13 Jun. 16, SAN FRANCISCO: Facebook will delete all the photos that users have synced from its main app if they do not install photo-sharing app Moments.
The company began to notify its users that it would soon delete all their synced photos if they did not install the app before 7 July.
“Photos you privately synced from your phone to Facebook will be deleted soon. Earlier this year, they were moved to Moments, a new app from Facebook. If you want to keep these photos, download and log into Moments before 7 July. If you don’t want Moments, download these photos directly to your computer from your Facebook profile before 7 July,” said Facebook.
Several users used the photo syncing feature that was introduced in 2012 and promised unlimited automatic photo uploads from users’ smartphones into a private album on Facebook, as a way of backing up their photo collection similar to Yahoo’s Flickr, Google’s Photos and Apple’s iCloud Photos.
Since January, the social network discontinued support for automatic syncing of photos from the main Facebook app, forcing users to install the Moments app to continue automatically uploading their photos. Now Facebook will delete all their synced photos till users install the Moments app
The eviction of the synced photos will not impact any photos or videos shared on Facebook separately from the synced album, while users are being given the chance to download the photos before they are deleted.
Earlier, Facebook did the identical move with its Messenger app. The social network removed chat from the main Facebook app and forcing users to install the Messenger app to keep sending Facebook instant messages on smartphones.