The new deadline for accepting the policy was 15 May. Since it has passed, we need to think about our relationship with both WhatsApp and Facebook.
That being said, WhatsApp will start showing the pop-up in a more aggressive way. Unless you accept the new terms, certain features – such as sending and receiving messages and making audio and video calls – will not be accessible.
WhatsApp did announce that it will not actually delete your account. But this is a possibility since accounts are automatically deleted if any activity is not detected for 120 consecutive days.
Unless you accept the new policy, you can lose access to your WhatsApp account. Since some of the essential features of the app will become inaccessible, you will be forced to abandon your account.