A password will be e-mailed to you.

How To Recover Accidentally Deleted Messages On iPhones?

The Messages apps quickly get filled out with texts, videos, images, and all other kinds of attachments that make it bulky. To get a free space, iPhone users often clear the received messages. In addition to that, many users also enable the automatic deletion of the messages from the Message app after a specified amount of time. When one is deleting messages without reading or sorting, it might result in an accidental deletion of an important message resulting in agony and one might wonder if it is possible to get the message back. Thankfully, it is possible to recover accidentally deleted messages on the Message app. 

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

Deleted Messages Can Be Retrieved From iCloud 

Accidentally deleted messages can be recovered with the help of iCloud backup. However, for employing this method, it is important that you have taken an iCloud backup of the same. For the same, you need to open the “Settings” app and then tap on the picture that appears on the top of the screen and select “iCloud” and from there, you need to navigate to “Manage Storage” and then tap on “Backups”. It is always advisable to keep your iCloud backup option on for all your important stuff including the messages, photos, documents, your writings on topics such as Love Shayari, blog content, or Sad Shayari

When you tap on the Backups option, you will be able to view the list of all the available backups and by tapping on the icon, you can see when the backup was done. Then, you have to select the device from where you have accidentally deleted the message. It needs to be noted that, it is possible to get the backup data but you will end up losing any added changes or data that you have made post the backup, and therefore, it is important to intelligently save the copies of each backup. This step will also require you to reset the phone, which can be done by going to Settings > General > Reset iPhone > Erase All Contents and Settings. Post this, your iPhone will reboot and then, you can select the backup options to restore the messages on iCloud. 

Recover Deleted Messages Using iCloud.com 

In case, the idea of resetting your iPhone is too terrifying for you, you can also try to retrieve the deleted messages without actually erasing all the content of the iPhones. For recovering the same, using your Apple ID and password, log in to iCloud.com and then select “Text Messages” and then correctly identify the texts that you want to recover. Please note that the text messages option will only be visible if you have turned on the iCloud backup for the text messages. 

If you haven’t turned it on, you cannot recover your messages using this method. 

However, if you have turned on the backup option, you need to turn it off now from the Settings. Once the option has been turned off, download the text messages locally on your iPhone. After selecting the pop-up message stating, “Disable and Download Messages”, you will be able to lay your hands on the deleted messages. 

How To Avoid Accidental Deletion Of Messages?

To avoid the accidental deletion of messages in the future, you can turn off the automatic deletion of messages after a specified time. Instead of automatic deletion, go for manual deletion of the messages. To ensure that you are not overburdened with the big stack of unimportant messages, sort the messages right when you receive them. For instance, consider deleting a promotional message as soon as you receive it to avoid piling on such spam messages. 

In addition to that, always keep the backup option of text messages on iCloud. If the backup is on, it becomes pretty easy to recover the deleted messages without using any complicated third-party messages. Also, the Messages app of iPhone provides the users with the option to pin the messages. You can consider pinning all the important messages to prevent accidental deletion of the messages. 

However, if you do not have the time to check all the individual messages, you can use the in-built sorting features of the messages to delete the messages in bulk. The Messages app automatically categorized the messages that you receive into known senders, unknown senders, transactions, and promotions. With the help of this categorization, you can delete unimportant messages in one go. For instance, transaction messages are important but most of the promotion messages can be deleted without reading them. 

Comments

comments

No more articles
Send this to a friend