A password will be e-mailed to you.

How to Wipe a Macbook

If you’re wondering how to wipe a Macbook, This article will show you how to reset your Mac’s File System to factory settings and why you should wipe your MacBook. You can also read up on steps to perform a factory reset, as well as tips for reinstalling macOS before resetting. Hopefully, these tips will help you wipe your Macbook safely and completely.

How to Wipe a Macbook

Credit @ Apple

File system format for wiping a MacBook

To wipe a Macbook, you must first boot into recovery mode. To do so, press and hold the Power key until you see the Apple logo and spinning globe. In the “Erase” tab, click the “Erase” button. You will then be prompted to choose the file system format for the new hard drive. Choose “Mac OS Extended (Journaled)”. Finally, click “Erase” to erase the hard drive. Before the hard drive has been completely erased, you must back up any data by connecting it to another computer.

You can use the Time Machine or a cloning drive for backing up. If you forget to backup your data, you can also choose a different file system or format your Mac with the factory settings. After this, you can use the factory settings to restore your Mac to its default settings.

There are a few steps you should follow before performing a factory reset on your MacBook. Back up any important files, log out of iTunes, and unpair Bluetooth devices before resetting the device. Performing a factory reset will erase all your data and settings. Make sure you back up all your files before attempting this procedure.

How to Wipe a Macbook

Credit @ Apple

Restarting a MacBook

To restart a Macbook after wiping your data, you need to hold down Command-R while restarting. Upon restart, a macOS utility window will appear. From there, you can select Reinstall macOS. Follow the onscreen instructions to reinstall macOS. Once the computer has finished installing the new operating system, you can quit out of the Setup Assistant and your Mac will be ready to go.

If your Mac has been wiped, you can restart it if you want to leave the computer setup for the next owner. First, you must sign out of your Apple ID and enter your password. After confirming this, click Erase All Content and Settings. Your Mac will then show a black screen with a progress bar and erase it on its own.

Reasons to perform a factory reset on a MacBook

Performing a factory reset on a Macbook Air is a necessary step when selling a model. This step wipes all your data and settings from the computer. It’s a good idea to perform this step to avoid security risks. Here are some reasons why you may want to perform a factory reset on a MacBook.

Performing a factory reset is the last resort when other troubleshooting methods don’t work. However, in some cases, the factory reset is a necessary step if you’ve noticed a serious OS problem and want to completely erase the hard drive. It can also solve any software or file problems that are causing your Mac to freeze.

Comments

comments

No more articles
Send this to a friend